Is this peep kosher?


Today began with an intriguing theological discussion, inspired by the attendance of our Jewish medical director at a quality improvement committee meeting, on whether or not marshmallow peeps are kosher.

It was apparent from the package that the peeps currently in our possession were not, but we couldn’t figure out why.  We figured out that it probably had to do with the gelatin in the peeps probably coming from some sort of random hoofed animal.  But then we hadn’t determined if the peeps were butchered in a kosher shop either.

A little further investigation determined that Jelly Belly jelly beans are kosher, as are some chocolate bunnies.  I also discovered an awesome story of kosher Passover chocolates depicting  each of the ten plagues.

Viva la entrepreneur!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s